Update on Optima review

They reached out to me and offered a $ 1600 rebate, but I would have to take down my negative reviews. I declined. Their offer was not an adequate amount to satisfy Optimas lack of proper representation, communication, not adhering to company advertisements, offering no appealing tax solutions, and therefore their lack of providing us with any type of tax freedom. Their lack of honesty about asking the IRS for an OIC is simply appalling. The last person I spoke to also confirmed that this was not done. Their co-founder publishes that Optima has a philosophy to deliver excellence for every client, every time, no exceptions. We bought their misleading information and were and are sorely disappointed with this company. Thus , I would rather sound out on this fraudulent company every chance I get in hopes of saving others time and money thinking this company will help. Wont happen!!

User's recommendation: Do not use Optima Tax Relief.

View full review
ID
#2399744 Review #2399744 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Optima Tax Relief Tax Resolution
Pros
  • Misrepresented services
Cons
  • Communication issues
  • Dishonesty
  • Misrepresentation
Loss
$5500
Preferred solution
Full refund

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Resolved: Dishonest Business Practices

Update by user Mar 09, 2021

Company fixed the issue and I have been provided with settlement agreement.

Original review posted by user Dec 08, 2020
I contacted Optima for tax help and I feel I was lied to and cheated . After paying them the $ 1,200.00 to take my case they said they had to review it . After the review they charged me $ 4,550.00 more and didn't save me one cent . They cover themselves by using vague answers and make sure you understand you can't hold them accountable . They offered me a refund of $ 1,250.00 if I promised to keep my mouth shut and not give them a bad review . I didn't take the refund . So basically cost me $ 5,550.00 more to get Optima involved and still had my tax liability . Fair warning they are professional liars and thieves .
View full review
Resolved
ID
#2327509 Review #2327509 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Optima Tax Relief Tax Resolution
Pros
  • Misrepresented services
Cons
  • Dishonesty
Loss
$5550
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

Horrible company

I contracted with Optima tax relief and made the initial down payment and two monthly payments and then COVID hit. I explained to them I was very limited in working and I could afford lower payments. They were kind enough to give some months without payments until my situation improved. I had paid over 2500 into this company already, for what? I asked several times what they did for $2500 besides maybe sending the IRS a letter starting to work out my situation. The customer RETENTION Dept called me which is a joke...because there is no retention at all telling me in Oct they were going to cancel my account and the IRS would move forward in collecting back taxes. The gentleman Branden Silva I spoke with a few times and told him I could make some lower payments, but he stressed several times they could not lower my payments until I paid another $1000.00 and then could look at lowering my payments. I explained I could not make a $1000 dollar payment at this time and is there any other alternatives....no of course there was not..$1000 or they would cancel,,,, which they did. Now I am out $3000, the IRS has sent me letters saying I would be turned over to a collection company, and I am no further along then I started with Optima but $3k down. My recommendation is you go with another company and do not waste your time with Optima...they are all about getting as much money from you as possible and when you cannot they drop you right in the middle of your resolution.

User's recommendation: STAY AWAY.

View full review
ID
#2324916 Review #2324916 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Schererville, Indiana

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Optima misrepresented themselves to me.

Optima Tax Relief - Optima misrepresented themselves to me.
Original review updated by user Oct 27, 2020
This organization is a scam fueled by a reptilian mindset! They are completely and utterly inept at managing detailed tax returns. Their ultimate goal is to leave you hanging until every dime is squeezed out of your bank account. Optima can only handle those types of...
View full review
View full review
ID
#2250857 Review #2250857 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Optima Tax Relief Tax Resolution
Pros
  • Misrepresented services
Cons
  • Response timing
  • Misrepresented services
  • Rogues
Loss
$600
Preferred solution
Full refund
New Reviewer

Resolved: Optima Tax Relief is a scam and a Rip-off

Update by user Apr 03, 2020

Optima Tax Service gave refund

Original review posted by user Apr 02, 2020
I had reached an agreement for payment of back taxes with the IRS, although the IRS could not be specific about what I owed for so the agreement was never implimented. I asked for and received an extension to hire an outside agency that would audit my account and amend my filed tax returns if needed. In October2019, I hired Optima with a specific set of instructions. I was assured by David Choe, Sylvia Rosas, Catalina Hernandez that these issues would be addressed. By January I was receiving letters from the IRS that stated that I had defaulted on an agreement and was fined an even greater amount. I called Optioma and was assured by Catallina Hernandez that they had not entered me into an agreement without my consent and never would. I began receiving more mail from IRS stating that I would be sued over delinquent account, I again called Optima and spoke with Joanna Rauda who told me three times that I was not entered into an agreement without my consent. On the 28th of January I was sent an Email from her stating they had entered into an agreement without my consent. I was lied to several times by two different representatives and told I didn't know what I was talking about, very rudely I might add. I kept trying to contact Optima, many emails sent no answer. Many calls no call backs.So not only did the Optima representatives lie to me, which is recorded. But they entered into an agreement without my consent and with holding that information from me ( I had to call the IRS and find out myself). But instead of getting me out of debt with the IRS they got me into MORE trouble and debt with the IRS. I have attempted many times via voice and E-mail to resolve this situation. No results. I tried to explain to them my daughter had just passed on Feb. 9,2020 and I had to borrow money for her funeral expenses, but they didn't care they still took payment out of my account for a job they knew they already screwed up and set me up for failure. This company cheats and lies.

User's recommendation: This company should do the right thing, and give me back the money they took over and above the initial investigative fee. The appropriate thing to do would for this company to take responsibility and also compensate me for the increased debt incurred to me by the IRS, due to Optima representative getting me into an agreement without my knowledge or consent, and the fines for not meeting the obligations of an agreement I didn't know I was in due to optima representatives lying and hiding the fact.

View full review
Resolved
ID
#1850532 Review #1850532 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Optima Tax Relief Tax Resolution
Loss
$2574
Preferred solution
Full refund

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Resolved: Turn the other way!

Update by user Mar 02, 2020

A very sympathetic and kind gentleman, Ricky Gonzalez, has reached out to me. In a week he's addressed my concerns, answered all my questions and has been EXTREMELY helpful resolving my case. I simply cant recommend Ricky highly enough, he has truly been fantastic to deal with!

Original review posted by user Feb 20, 2020
If I could give them zero stars, I would!! I am disgusted by the service provided and paid $8485 for absolutely NOTHING! I would have been better off going to the IRS myself, accompanied by my tax consultant. An IRS agent reached out twice, provided her contact details more than a year ago. As of last week, no one from Optima has reached out to her. In June 2019, I was asked by a lady named Ruby, asked to reduce deductions. I again provided the necessary substantiation and explained that I am not willing to lie on any tax return. NEVER heard back from her! To date our 2018 tax return has not been filed, or completed by Optima. I have called, sent messages. NO UPDATE! We were misled and taken advantage of by Optima’s false assurances. They’re only interested in your money. More than a year after paying Optima, None of my concerns or issues have been addressed or resolved. WORST customer service EVER! They’ve not delivered on any of their promises or published statements! I reported Optima to the BBB and have to agree with prior reviewers, they are a scam! Run the other way and ask the BBB for references to legitimate tax consultants!
View full review
Resolved
ID
#1798858 Review #1798858 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Pros
  • Convincing me into doing something for me and my taxes
  • Ads on tv and radio
  • Misrepresented services
Cons
  • Response timing
  • Misrepresented services
  • Solutions offered
Loss
$8485
Preferred solution
Full refund
New Reviewer

Bad Business

Took my money and still have the same problem haven't solved anything and its been 2 years. I'm starting to think they work for the IRS.
View full review
ID
#1669395 Review #1669395 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Loss
$8
Preferred solution
Full refund

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Optima Tax did not tell me I could not qualify for any program until my last payment

Update by user Feb 18, 2020

I believe it might be time to release the email correspondence with Optima which will further shed light on my situation.

Update by user Feb 18, 2020

It is a travesty what I went through with Optima Tax. No consumer should have to put up with this.

Optima owes me the $60000 additional to what I should have to pay the IRS plus the $14,000 rip-off they charged me for their services. And after they received the money from me, Optima refused to work with me any more.They took their money and ran.Optima should really be ashamed of itself.

Original review posted by user Aug 22, 2019
I had to pay $14,000 for Optima Tax to represent me. Found out after it was too late that I could have handled it myself and paid less taxes. They always led me to believe I would qualify for a program and get a tax deduction at the end. During the process, every time I asked for tangible account of my current situation I got the run-around. They have it set up like a car wash where you go through different phases. It is as-if one hand does not know what the other is doing and you do not find anything out until they have received the very last payment. Then you find out you were better off doing it yourself. I have so much more information and proof but I will wave displaying it on this site and be posting it elsewhere where it is not being filtered by Optima, who is a paid subscriber to this site. At times, Customer Service was downright nasty. The only reason I give even one star below is because I want to make sure it registers. I am really pissed. They have a really good marketing SEO team who has made sure that nobody can post bad review sites.
View full review
3 comments
#1827520

Optima never contacted me to discuss any of this. Once I paid them the $15,000 they simply dropped me like a hot potato and would no longer communicate with me.

They told me my file had been archived and it was out of their hands. It was as-if you purchased a BMW and the first time you showed up a month later with a question about the engine, they said "you bought the car and now live with it." Optima cost me thousands of extra dollars in tax payments to the IRS due to their own negligence.

And they did not have the decency to follow-up. How shameful.

#1827521
@Charles N Dxw

Their customers are soooo misleading. Luckily, I have already turned others away from using their services and they cost me so much money, I will continue to turn friends and acquaintances away from using their services. I have never encountered such an inept company who really does NOT care about the tax payer.

#1827522
@Charles N Dxw

Their commercials not customers

View more comments (2)
ID
#1632356 Review #1632356 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Houston, Texas
New Reviewer

Great place to get burned

I spent around $9000 with these clowns. Over a period of three years; I sent them endless paperwork to eastablish an IRS tax settlement. Recently they stopped working for me. A local attorney wanted to have a copy of my file; so he could see what they they we trying to do for said resolution. Optima management refused to give me my OWN file. The only thing they were willing to return was my bank records. They did offer to reinstate me at half price. The only thing I have to show for it is a $107,000 tax Lien. STAY AWAY FROM THESE CRIMINALS. All they want is your money.
View full review
ID
#1626352 Review #1626352 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Optima Tax Relief Tax Resolution
Pros
  • Customer service agent that took my original phone call
Cons
  • Length of time
  • Misrepresented services
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Loss
$9000
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution
New Reviewer

A Calufornia scam company steals consumers money.

They have stolen my 4000 and has n pop t resolved my tax problems, and has hiven me mo record of what was done.
View full review
ID
#1615318 Review #1615318 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Optima Tax Relief Tax Resolution
Pros
  • Convincing me into doing something for me and my taxes
  • Misrepresented services
Cons
  • Took our money and in almost 2 years
  • Rogues
Reason of review
Not as described/ advertised
Loss
$4000
Preferred solution
Full refund
New Reviewer

Optima negotiated my taxes down by 9000 dollars

I cashed out 64000 in order to pay my house off. The following year my tax software said I owed 29,030 in Federal taxes! I contacted Optima Tax Relief to help get my taxes negotiated down to a reasonable level. It took 2 months exactly, but they were able to negotiate my taxes to a more reasonable 19875.00 so I'm a satisfied customer. The total service was 2700, which is a lot, but I don't have any house payments yo worry about ... t
View full review
ID
#1563713 Review #1563713 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Optima Tax Relief Tax Resolution
Pros
  • Convincing me into doing something for me and my taxes
Reason of review
Got my tax issue resolved
New Reviewer

Poor experience with Optima Tax Relief

Optima does not do much that the average person cannot do for themselves with the IRS. They took over $5000 from me and did essentially nothing. They didn't even set up my payment plan. I did that myself. Anyone can. In the end I wasted $5495. Be very careful dealing with Optima Tax Relief. I would contact a tax attorney or an accountant before I contacted them. The only thing they have going for them is they know the tax laws and what an individual needs to do. However, they charge a whole lot for that service. I'm sure many (if not most) people can do everything on their own with cheaper advice from a trusted tax pro. I believe they are borderline unethical because they do not give you any other options, based on your financial status. Once they see who you are they should advise you elsewhere if needed, rather than take your $$$. In my case it was a total rip-off. Good money after bad. As I said, be very cautious about dealing with them, and check with a tax pro first. Don't make my mistake.
View full review
ID
#1376556 Review #1376556 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Santa Ana, California
Service
Optima Tax Relief Tax Resolution
Cons
  • Misrepresented services
Reason of review
Not as described/ advertised
Loss
$5495
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution
New Reviewer

Optima took our money and did not perform in a timely manner.

We started working with Optima Tax Relief in Santa Ana, Ca. in June 2016. we paid them $5,000.00 to settle our tax debt with the IRS, and get us a payment plan we could afford. At first it was going well, we got reports as to what they were doing. Then they wanted to redo our 2014 and 2015 taxes, which had already been accepted by the IRS. In the end it cost us more money owed to IRS. As time went on, it seemed as though it was taking a long time to get anything done, we were now a year and nine months into the program, and no solution. When we got a final letter from IRS saying we had 10 days to call them and settled the case, I called them myself, was on the phone for 45 minutes, and got a payment plan. It was a higher payment than we wanted, but I got it done. So I asked Optima for a refund, since I did the work. First they offered $500.00, which we refused, then $900.00, which we also refused. Then they finally offered us a refund of $1,500.00, which we accepted. So our issue has been resolved, case closed, and we are ok with it.
View full review
ID
#1226048 Review #1226048 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Santa Ana, California
Service
Optima Tax Relief Tax Resolution
Pros
  • Ads on tv and radio
Reason of review
We got a fair refund
New Reviewer
Resolved

Resolved: Took our $5,000.00 and did nothing in a year and 9 months, I

Update by user Apr 10, 2018

Optima reached out to us, and we came to a mutual resolution to our case. We are happy to say that it was a fair settlement.

Update by user Apr 06, 2018

Optima called us and at first offered a $500.00 refund, which we declined. A day later they offered $900.00, again we declined.

A few days later they called and this time offered us a refund of $1,500.00, which we accepted. We thought it was fair, and are very happy this case has been resolved.

Original review posted by user Mar 31, 2018

We signed on with optima june 2016. After almost two years they did nothing to come to a resolution and set up a payment plan.

Always having one excuse after another,why there was no solution. They surely do not live up to their ads. It is false advertisement. I finally had to call the IRS myself and set up my own payment plan.

It is a higher payment than I wanted, but at least it will keep them off our backs. We now owe more in taxes than when we stared. They redid some our our taxes, that had already been accepted by IRS, and now we owe $20,000 more, They redid our taxes all wrong, did not give us the deductions we were entitled to as a small business. We all need to start a class action suit against them.

They are crooks. They also refused to give us a refund, they did offer $900.

as a courtesy. We of course refused.

Optima Tax Relief Reply:
Hi, please allow us the opportunity to demonstrate how much our staff truly cares by helping to provide you with excellent service. We understand your concerns and we would like the opportunity to continue working with you. One of our dedicated Quality Assurance Specialists has already been made aware and has taken the time to review your case and will be reaching out to you shortly so that we can find further solutions to your concerns. We will not rest until we create a successful experience for you, as well as for all of our clients. If you prefer to speak to us at your convenience, please feel free to give us a call at (800) 965-3192. We really do value your feedback, since learning from you allows us to implement adjustments to help upgrade our client experience. We look forward to speaking with you, and hope to resolve any concerns you may have.
View full review
ID
#1223411 Review #1223411 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Optima Tax Relief Tax Resolution
Cons
  • Took our money and in almost 2 years
Reason of review
Not as described/ advertised
Loss
$5000
Preferred solution
Full refund
New Reviewer

Got to speak to a person

I've been trying to get some answers but couldn't get a call back. The lady I spoke with looked everything up & answered my question.
View full review
ID
#1221075 Review #1221075 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Optima Tax Relief Customer Care
Reason of review
Good customer service