Optima Tax Relief Reviews

Show reviews that mention
tax money optima taxes payment service account business payment plan lien
Filter review
Most helpful review

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer
Optima Tax Relief - Optima misrepresented themselves to me.
Original review updated by user Oct 27, 2020
This organization is a scam fueled by a reptilian mindset! They are completely and utterly inept at managing detailed tax returns. Their ultimate goal is to leave you hanging until every dime is squeezed out of your bank account. Optima can only handle those types of...
View full review
View full review
ID
#2250857 Review #2250857 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Optima Tax Relief Tax Resolution
Pros
  • Misrepresented services
Cons
  • Response timing
  • Misrepresented services
  • Services
Loss
$600
Preferred solution
Full refund

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Fraudulent practice

I am paying Optima tax Relief $3,770.00 to resolve my tax issue, but they have not submitted any paperwork on my behalf to the IRS. I am receiving letters from the IRS along with a payment plan I did not agree to.
View full review
ID
#2654449 Review #2654449 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Optima Tax Relief Tax Resolution
Pros
  • Appeared to be legit
Loss
$2
Preferred solution
Deliver product or service ordered

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer
Original review updated by user Jun 05, 2021
Hired Optima tax in July 2020 but had been corresponding with them as far back as May 2020. Paid them $7500 over 10 months and they've produced nothing other than file my 2019 Taxes! They have done NOTHING to negotiate my debt with the IRS nor stop the IRS from...
View full review
View full review
ID
#2588849 Review #2588849 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Optima Tax Relief Tax Resolution
Cons
  • Misrepresented services
  • Played games
  • Took 7500 bucks and negotiated nothing with the irs
Loss
$7500
Preferred solution
Full refund
New Reviewer

I was scammed by Optima Tax Relief

I paid OTR $2495.00 for nothing. I had to contact them to find out what was the status of my tax situation. When they finally contacted me they gave me two options, (1) to pay the IRS $190.00 dollars a month or (2) do non collective. This I already knew, I could have worked with the IRS myself. I contacted the Better Business Bureau and Alliance Consumer Business and they either would or could not help me. All I know I've been ripped off. Ms. Pam 706-955-****

User's recommendation: Do not deal with Optima Tax Relief..RUN.

View full review
ID
#2552468 Review #2552468 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Optima Tax Relief Customer Care
Pros
  • Ads on tv and radio
Cons
  • Communication issues
  • Misrepresented services
  • Make up stuff to scare you even more
Loss
$2
Preferred solution
Full refund
New Reviewer

Lien off my house so I can refinance my house.

I have constantly been calling, no one will return my calls. Ive been told someone will call me back. Ive emailed, and text but still havent heard from anyone. I want to refinance my house and I need to get the lien removed. I need to know what the status of my lien. I have been sending $50 a month to you. I would expect better customer service.
View full review
ID
#2486285 Review #2486285 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Shawnee, Kansas
Preferred solution
Deliver product or service ordered
New Reviewer

Unable to obtain investigation details

DI paid $500 for investigation of unpaid taxes. I was unable to afford the $15K Optima required to file my back taxes. Ive requested on four occasions for a copy of my file or a summary of the findings...and I cant get a call back. I need this information to proceed before a lien or other actions are taken.

User's recommendation: Hire a CPA.

View full review
ID
#2462142 Review #2462142 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$500
Preferred solution
Deliver product or service ordered

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

They need to be but out of business CROOKS

They draw you in when trying to get $ from you to pay for their services and are not upfront about total cost. It is a waste of money and I regret paying them because they did nothing for me. I had to call and call and send emails and their response time is horrible. They want to keep switching you from this case member to another. I was unemployment and thought they could get some of my taxes owed eliminated. Call the IRS yourself and work out something with them. I thought I was the ideal candidate being a widow, made payments to the IRS for 8 years and unemployed. Their solution accept the tax lien on my home or pay them $266 per month. That means even though I paid the IRS $ I could never get out of debt with them because of penalties the IRS keeps adding.

User's recommendation: Call the IRS yourself I paid 2000 to Optima and they did nothing for me.

View full review
ID
#2424138 Review #2424138 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Pros
  • Misrepresented services
Loss
$1600
Preferred solution
Full refund

Update on Optima review

They reached out to me and offered a $ 1600 rebate, but I would have to take down my negative reviews. I declined. Their offer was not an adequate amount to satisfy Optimas lack of proper representation, communication, not adhering to company advertisements, offering no appealing tax solutions, and therefore their lack of providing us with any type of tax freedom. Their lack of honesty about asking the IRS for an OIC is simply appalling. The last person I spoke to also confirmed that this was not done. Their co-founder publishes that Optima has a philosophy to deliver excellence for every client, every time, no exceptions. We bought their misleading information and were and are sorely disappointed with this company. Thus , I would rather sound out on this fraudulent company every chance I get in hopes of saving others time and money thinking this company will help. Wont happen!!

User's recommendation: Do not use Optima Tax Relief.

View full review
ID
#2399744 Review #2399744 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Optima Tax Relief Tax Resolution
Pros
  • Misrepresented services
Cons
  • Misrepresentation
  • Communication issues
  • Ads
Loss
$5500
Preferred solution
Full refund

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Resolved: Dishonest Business Practices

Update by user Mar 09, 2021

Company fixed the issue and I have been provided with settlement agreement.

Original review posted by user Dec 08, 2020
I contacted Optima for tax help and I feel I was lied to and cheated . After paying them the $ 1,200.00 to take my case they said they had to review it . After the review they charged me $ 4,550.00 more and didn't save me one cent . They cover themselves by using vague answers and make sure you understand you can't hold them accountable . They offered me a refund of $ 1,250.00 if I promised to keep my mouth shut and not give them a bad review . I didn't take the refund . So basically cost me $ 5,550.00 more to get Optima involved and still had my tax liability . Fair warning they are professional liars and thieves .
View full review
Resolved
ID
#2327509 Review #2327509 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Optima Tax Relief Tax Resolution
Pros
  • Misrepresented services
Cons
  • Dishonesty
Loss
$5550
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

Horrible company

I contracted with Optima tax relief and made the initial down payment and two monthly payments and then COVID hit. I explained to them I was very limited in working and I could afford lower payments. They were kind enough to give some months without payments until my situation improved. I had paid over 2500 into this company already, for what? I asked several times what they did for $2500 besides maybe sending the IRS a letter starting to work out my situation. The customer RETENTION Dept called me which is a joke...because there is no retention at all telling me in Oct they were going to cancel my account and the IRS would move forward in collecting back taxes. The gentleman Branden Silva I spoke with a few times and told him I could make some lower payments, but he stressed several times they could not lower my payments until I paid another $1000.00 and then could look at lowering my payments. I explained I could not make a $1000 dollar payment at this time and is there any other alternatives....no of course there was not..$1000 or they would cancel,,,, which they did. Now I am out $3000, the IRS has sent me letters saying I would be turned over to a collection company, and I am no further along then I started with Optima but $3k down. My recommendation is you go with another company and do not waste your time with Optima...they are all about getting as much money from you as possible and when you cannot they drop you right in the middle of your resolution.

User's recommendation: STAY AWAY.

View full review
ID
#2324916 Review #2324916 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Schererville, Indiana
New Reviewer

Resolved: Optima Tax Relief is a scam and a Rip-off

Update by user Apr 03, 2020

Optima Tax Service gave refund

Original review posted by user Apr 02, 2020
I had reached an agreement for payment of back taxes with the IRS, although the IRS could not be specific about what I owed for so the agreement was never implimented. I asked for and received an extension to hire an outside agency that would audit my account and amend my filed tax returns if needed. In October2019, I hired Optima with a specific set of instructions. I was assured by David Choe, Sylvia Rosas, Catalina Hernandez that these issues would be addressed. By January I was receiving letters from the IRS that stated that I had defaulted on an agreement and was fined an even greater amount. I called Optioma and was assured by Catallina Hernandez that they had not entered me into an agreement without my consent and never would. I began receiving more mail from IRS stating that I would be sued over delinquent account, I again called Optima and spoke with Joanna Rauda who told me three times that I was not entered into an agreement without my consent. On the 28th of January I was sent an Email from her stating they had entered into an agreement without my consent. I was lied to several times by two different representatives and told I didn't know what I was talking about, very rudely I might add. I kept trying to contact Optima, many emails sent no answer. Many calls no call backs.So not only did the Optima representatives lie to me, which is recorded. But they entered into an agreement without my consent and with holding that information from me ( I had to call the IRS and find out myself). But instead of getting me out of debt with the IRS they got me into MORE trouble and debt with the IRS. I have attempted many times via voice and E-mail to resolve this situation. No results. I tried to explain to them my daughter had just passed on Feb. 9,2020 and I had to borrow money for her funeral expenses, but they didn't care they still took payment out of my account for a job they knew they already screwed up and set me up for failure. This company cheats and lies.

User's recommendation: This company should do the right thing, and give me back the money they took over and above the initial investigative fee. The appropriate thing to do would for this company to take responsibility and also compensate me for the increased debt incurred to me by the IRS, due to Optima representative getting me into an agreement without my knowledge or consent, and the fines for not meeting the obligations of an agreement I didn't know I was in due to optima representatives lying and hiding the fact.

View full review
Resolved
ID
#1850532 Review #1850532 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Optima Tax Relief Tax Resolution
Loss
$2574
Preferred solution
Full refund

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Resolved: Turn the other way!

Update by user Mar 02, 2020

A very sympathetic and kind gentleman, Ricky Gonzalez, has reached out to me. In a week he's addressed my concerns, answered all my questions and has been EXTREMELY helpful resolving my case. I simply cant recommend Ricky highly enough, he has truly been fantastic to deal with!

Original review posted by user Feb 20, 2020
If I could give them zero stars, I would!! I am disgusted by the service provided and paid $8485 for absolutely NOTHING! I would have been better off going to the IRS myself, accompanied by my tax consultant. An IRS agent reached out twice, provided her contact details more than a year ago. As of last week, no one from Optima has reached out to her. In June 2019, I was asked by a lady named Ruby, asked to reduce deductions. I again provided the necessary substantiation and explained that I am not willing to lie on any tax return. NEVER heard back from her! To date our 2018 tax return has not been filed, or completed by Optima. I have called, sent messages. NO UPDATE! We were misled and taken advantage of by Optima’s false assurances. They’re only interested in your money. More than a year after paying Optima, None of my concerns or issues have been addressed or resolved. WORST customer service EVER! They’ve not delivered on any of their promises or published statements! I reported Optima to the BBB and have to agree with prior reviewers, they are a scam! Run the other way and ask the BBB for references to legitimate tax consultants!
View full review
Resolved
ID
#1798858 Review #1798858 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Pros
  • Ads on tv and radio
  • Misrepresented services
  • Convincing me into doing something for me and my taxes
Cons
  • Misrepresented services
  • Length of time
  • Solutions offered
Loss
$8485
Preferred solution
Full refund
New Reviewer

Bad Business

Took my money and still have the same problem haven't solved anything and its been 2 years. I'm starting to think they work for the IRS.
View full review
ID
#1669395 Review #1669395 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Loss
$8
Preferred solution
Full refund

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Optima Tax did not tell me I could not qualify for any program until my last payment

Update by user Feb 18, 2020

I believe it might be time to release the email correspondence with Optima which will further shed light on my situation.

Update by user Feb 18, 2020

It is a travesty what I went through with Optima Tax. No consumer should have to put up with this.

Optima owes me the $60000 additional to what I should have to pay the IRS plus the $14,000 rip-off they charged me for their services. And after they received the money from me, Optima refused to work with me any more.They took their money and ran.Optima should really be ashamed of itself.

Original review posted by user Aug 22, 2019
I had to pay $14,000 for Optima Tax to represent me. Found out after it was too late that I could have handled it myself and paid less taxes. They always led me to believe I would qualify for a program and get a tax deduction at the end. During the process, every time I asked for tangible account of my current situation I got the run-around. They have it set up like a car wash where you go through different phases. It is as-if one hand does not know what the other is doing and you do not find anything out until they have received the very last payment. Then you find out you were better off doing it yourself. I have so much more information and proof but I will wave displaying it on this site and be posting it elsewhere where it is not being filtered by Optima, who is a paid subscriber to this site. At times, Customer Service was downright nasty. The only reason I give even one star below is because I want to make sure it registers. I am really pissed. They have a really good marketing SEO team who has made sure that nobody can post bad review sites.
View full review
3 comments
#1827520

Optima never contacted me to discuss any of this. Once I paid them the $15,000 they simply dropped me like a hot potato and would no longer communicate with me.

They told me my file had been archived and it was out of their hands. It was as-if you purchased a BMW and the first time you showed up a month later with a question about the engine, they said "you bought the car and now live with it." Optima cost me thousands of extra dollars in tax payments to the IRS due to their own negligence.

And they did not have the decency to follow-up. How shameful.

#1827521
@Charles N

Their customers are soooo misleading. Luckily, I have already turned others away from using their services and they cost me so much money, I will continue to turn friends and acquaintances away from using their services. I have never encountered such an inept company who really does NOT care about the tax payer.

#1827522
@Charles N

Their commercials not customers

View more comments (2)
ID
#1632356 Review #1632356 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Houston, Texas
New Reviewer

Great place to get burned

I spent around $9000 with these clowns. Over a period of three years; I sent them endless paperwork to eastablish an IRS tax settlement. Recently they stopped working for me. A local attorney wanted to have a copy of my file; so he could see what they they we trying to do for said resolution. Optima management refused to give me my OWN file. The only thing they were willing to return was my bank records. They did offer to reinstate me at half price. The only thing I have to show for it is a $107,000 tax Lien. STAY AWAY FROM THESE CRIMINALS. All they want is your money.
View full review
ID
#1626352 Review #1626352 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Optima Tax Relief Tax Resolution
Pros
  • Customer service agent that took my original phone call
Cons
  • Length of time
  • Misrepresented services
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Loss
$9000
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution
New Reviewer

A Calufornia scam company steals consumers money.

They have stolen my 4000 and has n pop t resolved my tax problems, and has hiven me mo record of what was done.
View full review
ID
#1615318 Review #1615318 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Optima Tax Relief Tax Resolution
Pros
  • Convincing me into doing something for me and my taxes
  • Misrepresented services
Cons
  • Rogues
  • Took our money and in almost 2 years
Reason of review
Not as described/ advertised
Loss
$4000
Preferred solution
Full refund

Why Trust Reviews on PissedConsumer?

  • Professional auto and live moderation
  • 100% user-generated content
  • Equal opportunity and protection
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Verified content

For more information read Blog article