Giga B

This review is written by an individual who has purchased the reviewed product/service and/or confirms being a paying customer of this company. Check our FAQ

Verified Buyer
|

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

PLEASE READ IF YOU INTEND OR THINKING OF WORKING WITH OTR.

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Optima Tax Relief - PLEASE READ IF YOU INTEND OR THINKING OF WORKING WITH OTR.
1.FREE CONSULTATION: This can often feel like a classic "sales" call, where the primary goal seems to be convincing you that OTR is genuinely here to assist you. However, it's important to remember that their primary objective is to serve their own interests. It's not fair to fault the individual conducting the call, as they are merely executing their job, which is to "close" and secure the sale. If you've ever watched the movie 'Boiler Room,' you'll understand the comparison. 2.INVESTIGATION $295: There's a significant discrepancy in the term 'investigation.' In reality, it primarily involves a request for IRS transcripts, which are also accessible at no cost through your IRS account portal. Obtaining these transcripts, even upon request, can often be a challenging endeavor. In my case, I decided to part ways with their services and terminate my contract within two months of hiring them, fortunately making an early exit. If you decide to engage in this process with them, it's crucial to insist on receiving copies of the documents as soon as they claim they are ready. As a client, you have every right to possess all materials pertaining to your case. They may mention the size of the file as a reason not to provide them immediately, but you can suggest having the documents mailed to you, if that is more convenient. If possible, wait for the documents to arrive and meticulously review them before committing to a contract with them. Compare the documents you receive with what is readily available on your IRS portal. Should you discover any valuable information, you can then cautiously proceed to the next step of considering their services. 3.CONTRACT AGREEMENT: If your situation allows for it, consider negotiating the 15-day refund period and having it explicitly included in the contract before finalizing the agreement. It's essential to diligently follow up on any services you've engaged them for during these initial 15 days. It's worth noting that they are unlikely to provide a full refund. For example, if you've paid them $5,000, you may be surprised to receive an offer of only $500 as a refund. 4.SERVICES: Their document view system is limited to one-way access. You can only see the documents you've uploaded and signed, with no visibility into their activities on their end. A reputable company that has nothing to conceal typically provides transparency in this regard. It's important to be aware that you might not have the opportunity to converse with a 'tax professional' or a dedicated 'case manager.' Most of your interactions will likely be with their front-line customer service agents. 5.OVERALL EXPERIENCE & RECOMMENDATIONS: It's crucial to maintain meticulous records of all your interactions and communications throughout your engagement. This includes documenting conversations and any relevant details. In addition to sharing your feedback and complaints on review websites, consider reporting your concerns to organizations like the Business Consumer Alliance and BBB. If your experience involves clear instances of unethical practices, as mine did, it's advisable to report such valid complaints to relevant government agencies like the FTC and even the IRS, if applicable. Please ensure that your submissions are based on genuine grievances and unethical conduct. It's worth noting that numerous complaints with vague, generic responses from OTR have surfaced, and this issue should be addressed. OTR operates in an arena where consumers are facing significant financial challenges, and it's imperative that their services are administered professionally and with the utmost care. Sadly, in my experience, the IRS provided more informative assistance than OTR did.
View full review
Loss:
$1388

User's recommendation: NOT WORTH IT! NOT A 'RELIEF' AT ALL

Beverly P Zkr

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Bad service

I paid Optima Tax Relief $6840.50 in late 2022 and received no service. They took my money and gave me no help!!!
View full review
Loss:
$6841
Cons:
  • Very expensive
  • Do not provide promise service

Preferred solution: Full refund

User's recommendation: Avoid Optima Tax Relief!!!!

Myriam S Jye
map-marker Santa Ana, California

Resolved: Took our $5,000.00 and did nothing in a year and 9 months, I

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Updated by user Apr 10, 2018

Optima reached out to us, and we came to a mutual resolution to our case. We are happy to say that it was a fair settlement.

Updated by user Apr 06, 2018

Optima called us and at first offered a $500.00 refund, which we declined. A day later they offered $900.00, again we declined.

A few days later they called and this time offered us a refund of $1,500.00, which we accepted. We thought it was fair, and are very happy this case has been resolved.

Original review Mar 31, 2018

We signed on with optima june 2016. After almost two years they did nothing to come to a resolution and set up a payment plan.

Always having one excuse after another,why there was no solution. They surely do not live up to their ads. It is false advertisement. I finally had to call the IRS myself and set up my own payment plan.

It is a higher payment than I wanted, but at least it will keep them off our backs. We now owe more in taxes than when we stared. They redid some our our taxes, that had already been accepted by IRS, and now we owe $20,000 more, They redid our taxes all wrong, did not give us the deductions we were entitled to as a small business. We all need to start a class action suit against them.

They are crooks. They also refused to give us a refund, they did offer $900.

as a courtesy. We of course refused.

Optima Tax Relief Reply:
Hi, please allow us the opportunity to demonstrate how much our staff truly cares by helping to provide you with excellent service. We understand your concerns and we would like the opportunity to continue working with you. One of our dedicated Quality Assurance Specialists has already been made aware and has taken the time to review your case and will be reaching out to you shortly so that we can find further solutions to your concerns. We will not rest until we create a successful experience for you, as well as for all of our clients. If you prefer to speak to us at your convenience, please feel free to give us a call at (800) 965-3192. We really do value your feedback, since learning from you allows us to implement adjustments to help upgrade our client experience. We look forward to speaking with you, and hope to resolve any concerns you may have.
View full review
Cons:
  • Took our money and in almost 2 years
Reason of review:
Not as described/ advertised
Loss:
$5000
Preferred solution:

Full refund

Brian C Fwk

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Rapid City, South Dakota

No stars at all.

Updated by user Jul 16, 2023

After talking with my IRS agent he informed me that optima tax relief never even contacted him and because he had not heard from them, he went ahead and submitted my case for filing. This has screwed me royally and optima tax relief never had any intention of providing me with their service.

They only intended on stealing my money. There are over 600 reports of the same problem with optima tax relief.I am now seeking a full refund as they did not do anything at all on my behalf.

Original review Jun 16, 2023
Optima tax relief told me that there were2 separate services with separate contracts. They said I had 15 days to change my mind. After finding out that they would not do the services that I needed, I changed my mind and asked for my money back. Optima tax relief then told me that the 15 days started a month or so prior to which it took them that long to get back to me. They then said because my 15 days ran out a month ago that they could keep my money. They stole $ 3300. From me and did not provide any service at all on the new contract. Optima tax relief absolutely refuses to deal in good faith with their customers l, and are therefore a crime ridden business with unethical business practices. Optima tax relief has a contract that is designed to entrap a customer and scam them out of their money.
View full review

User's recommendation: DO NOT USE OPTIMA TAX RELIEF.

Jonathan B Smx

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Paid $500 never filled my taxes Bret Moore I want my Refund

I paid for Bret Moore to do my taxes in 2020 I have an hold on my car Title and he never did anything I paid another taxes accounting to file for me I want my full Refund so call me so I can update my information so I can get my full Refund or Im contacting the Better Business Today I reach out to Bret Moore about this situation and he wont respond back Im taking the next step 401-326-****
View full review

Preferred solution: Full refund

Mostafa Gea
map-marker Morrice, Michigan

They did not do as they said they would scam me

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
I was told that they would help me out with my tax problem all they did is help me out of more than $6000 of my money and put me deeper in debt with the IRS by not stopping interest and penalties for Three years as a drug their feet and now I am deeper in debt to the IRS and still not resolve the issue
View full review

User's recommendation: Three years as a drug their feet and now I am deeper in debt to the IRS and still not resolve the issue

Janice H Rcm

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Optima isn't even worth One Star

I could explain the whole story; however, concisely, I would advise anyone who avoid Optima Tax Relief services. It is a complete waste of time and money. They do nothing but take your money and continue to LIE about working on your behalf. When you cancel their service, they still want to fight to keep your money, even if they have caused you money and none nothing at all. I'm sure that has to be a legitimate company out there; but I can assure that Optima is not one.
View full review
Loss:
$295
Cons:
  • Make up stuff to scare you from dealing with irs
  • Do not follow through with deadlines
  • Do not help at all

Preferred solution: Full refund

User's recommendation: Stay away from Optima

VERA I Mjv

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Optimal tax has only one man to do all the work, eg I called to speak with Andrea Bryant, his voice-mail picked up, I called customer service Andrea voice-mail picked up, I called anything else,Andrea

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
My complaint is that I already authorized Andrea Bryant to withdraw 295 dollars from my account on the 23rd of this month, for investigation on my tax problems with IRS,I called to cancel the transaction but Andrea Bryant is not answering, I drew my conclusion that Andrea Bryant does not work for Optimal tax, and I have gone back to my previous consultant honest tax, which Andrea Bryant said he has never heard about them.
View full review

Preferred solution: To cancel the withdrawal for 23rd of this month in the amount of 295 dollars.

User's recommendation: No for now

Mary S Ryh

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Rocky Point, New York

Your ads on TV

I recently saw an ad that had testimonials from customers who lambasted their experiences with the IRS. I realize you are trying to sell your service, but in today's atmosphere, with even members of Congress presenting the picture of IRS agents coming to small businesses with loaded assault weapons, your choice of comments just adds fuel to the fire. There must be some other way to attract customers than to have reports of the worst experiences with officers from a government agency.
View full review

Preferred solution: nothing

User's recommendation: no comment against the performance of the company

Henry C Nce
map-marker Miami, Florida

Complain

They have made the situation worst. Now i have agreed to a settlement and my pay check are being garnished. Im paying $1000 a month plus all my paycheck. Theyve left me in ruin.
View full review
Loss:
$10

Preferred solution: Full refund

User's recommendation: Move on. Don’t use this company. Better off dealing with a tax professional.

MS12345

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

FRAUDULENT COMPANY OPTIMA TAX RELIEF

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
OPTIMA TAX RELIEF CHARGED CLOSE TO 10,000 DOLLARS AND PROVIDED ME AN UNLICENSED BOOK KEEPER WHO CLAIMED TO BE A TAX PROFESSIONAL TO RESOLVE MY TAX MATTERS. THE COMPANY IS FRAUDULENT, WILL NOT RETURN MONEY BACK. THE CASE MANAGER/FRAUDULENT TAX PREPARER WAS NOT LICENSED. OPTIMA WOULD NOT RETURN MY CALLS OR RESPOND TO ANY REQUESTS TO GET A LEGITIMATE PROFESSIONAL. THEY HAVE AN AMAZING SOUNDING SALES ASSOCIATE WHO WILL OVERPROMISE BUT THEN THE REAL SERVICES WOULD NEVER BE PROVIDED AS PROMISED. BEWARE THIS COMPANY.
View full review
Loss:
$6500
Cons:
  • Misrepresented services
  • Communication issues
  • Played games

Preferred solution: Full refund

User's recommendation: DO NOT FALL FOR THIS TRAP

Mav S
map-marker Washington, District Of Columbia

False statements and fraudulent business practices by Optima

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
After months of complaining about lack of proper tax services (given an unlicensed tax professional) and Optima Eating close to 6000 dollars of my funds while going incommunicado or delivering on any of my requests, optima promises to pay me back fully and then backtracked and offered me a petty amount of 900 dollars after promising in good faith on a recorded line they would pay be back for doing zero support. I felt like I was in a corrupt country dealing with a corrupt company m with no rule of law when I dealt with Optima.
View full review
Loss:
$6500

Preferred solution: Full refund

User's recommendation: Avoid optima tax relief at all costs

1 comment
Guest

Agree completely!!!! NATIONAL SCAM COMPANY with HQ in corrupt Calif. stole $11000 from me with NO COMPROMISE REFUNDS !!!!

Anonymous
map-marker Upper Marlboro, Maryland

BAIT AND SWITCH COMPANY, STOLE 6000 USD

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
No tax relief given. Company does not have licensed tax professionals. Hired a bunch of scam artists to extract money and do nothing in return.
View full review
1 comment
Guest

agree completely!!! The slick talker Hispanic telemarketer /HOOK MARKETER and the ENTIRE STAFF including so-called TOP LEVEL EXECS are simply scam artists !!!!

Optima spends a small fortune on TALK RADIO ADS to lure busy Entrepreneurs into their scams TRADING on the celebrity of well-known POLITICAL COMMENTATORS!!! OptimA STOLE $11000 from me . ADVISE YOU TO FILE COMPLAINTS WITH ATTY. GENERAL OF CA.

and Ca.

Bar Assoc. since CEO is a so-called attorney

Tax Expert Talks

New Tax Season: What Are The Key Changes?

Feb 12, 2021

How to file your taxes? What tax software to use? What’s changed in the tax law? To help you prepare for tax filing season, Pissed Consumer interviewed Jerry Zeigler. Watch his expert tips on tax preparation. Find out how to avoid tax filing mistakes, tax scams, and make the most value of your returns.

Read full article
Jerry Zeigler
Jerry Zeigler

Jerry Zeigler is an AFC, an Enrolled Agent, and SaverLife financial coach. He has been in the tax field since 2011.

Anonymous
map-marker Cheyenne, Wyoming

Chris clark lack of communication, I need copies of all the tax years you've submitted on my behalf the last couple years are most important 2020, 2019, I need these to proceed with my divorce I r

i'm a current customer looking for a status update, also with my current program is 2021 included if not how much more to add it
View full review
Mary k Vue

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

I do not feel like I received what they advertised.

I called Optima based on their commercials. They have "real " testimonials of customers they have helped lower or erase their tax debt. Nether happened for us. Taxes and penalties keep accruing while we wait for them to work their magic, which took a year and then nothing. We paid 3500 to have them help us. Please I beg you do not get taken in by this company. Go to a reputable tax person in your area. They can do the same thing for way less money! Do NOT USE OPTIMA!!!!!!!
View full review
Loss:
$3500
Pros:
  • App
  • Misrepresented services
  • Appeared to be legit
Cons:
  • Misrepresented services

Preferred solution: Full refund

Debra W Yer

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Poor aervice

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
customer seevicI need a phone call back Ive called for 2 weeks now and no returns my call. Ive received a notice from IRS to level my account
View full review
Loss:
$14000
Pros:
  • Convincing me into doing something for me and my taxes
  • Misrepresented services
  • Ads on tv and radio
Cons:
  • Misrepresentation

Preferred solution: Full refund

User's recommendation: Never

1 comment
Debra W Yer

They never called back or tried to do anything. They are a fraud of a company and should be sued for stealing people’s money.

Why Trust Reviews on PissedConsumer?

  • Professional auto and live moderation
  • 100% user-generated content
  • Equal opportunity and protection
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Verified content
  • PissedConsumer is on the Inc. 5000 list

For more information read Blog article